Starbucks & Itunes Environmentally Unfriendly

October 5, 2007 at 1:42 am Leave a comment

Itunes Unfriendly Environment
Posted by Ed Maurer:

Today when I was enjoying my Carmel Macchiato at my local Starbucks and I noticed this display up front and center next to the cash register. I use iTunes to download music and love the fact that I am not increasing the amount of plastic used to make the CD and CD jewel case. The digital data goes right on my computer and then into my mp3 player. (i.e. No oil used to produce plastic.)

Now I see that iTunes is using a bunch of plastic to produce these useless cards. The card you see in the phono provides the ability to download an album that you already have the opportunity to download in the first place. And, Starbucks is promoting this sale by introducing it right near the cash register. A quote from the Starbucks website “Starbucks is committed to minimizing our environmental impacts throughout our entire supply chain.”

I think this part of the supply chain is not doing so well in the environmentally friendly department. What do you think?

Entry filed under: Environment. Tags: , , , .

Shop Pink and Think Green The Green Tax Podcast, Show #9

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Green Tax Podcast

Subscribe to the podcast!
Subscribe Here

Categories

Feeds

Flickr Photos


