Kroger Reusable Bag Refund

November 19, 2007 at 6:44 pm 3 comments

Posted by Ed Maurer:

Yesterday I was pleasantly surprised by my local Kroger store. I brought in my reusable shopping bag and the cashier asked me how many bags I had. I told her one, but I thought she was going to charge me for the bag (even though I had purchased it previously.) Instead, she gave me a 5 cent credit on my bill for using a reusable shopping bag. It’s great to see that the local grocery stores are picking up on the demands of the consumers and giving something back. I know that 5 cents isn’t a lot, but at least it’s a start. Next time I go in I’ll bring 1000 reusable bags so that I can get $50 in credits.

Entry filed under: green, Recycle. Tags: , , , , , .

Talk to your kids about being green. theGreenTax Podcast, Show #16

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Doug  |  December 1, 2007 at 3:29 am

    I’m betting you will only get the nickle refund for every reusable bag needed to bag the items you purchase. Everyone is angling for the quick easy buck, no wonder we got where we are here today. Don’t get me wrong .I have no doubt Kroger wouldn’t be doing this unless, it impacts the bottom line positively. FYI; I discovered this article in try to find out Dillons, Kroger owned has a similar policy

    Reply
  • 2. thegreentax  |  December 1, 2007 at 10:09 am

    Thanks for the comment Doug. It appears that the bag refund that I received is not a corporate standard but more a divisional decision. here’s a quote from their 2007 Green report
    “…many divisions have incentive programs in place for our customers who choose to use them.” (source: http://www.thekrogerco.com/documents/kroger_green_report07.pdf)

    I appaude them for offering something. I agree that bringing in 1000 bags is a bit of a stretch, but the fact that they offer a reasonable refund in the first place is a great thing. I think I’ll mention this on this weeks Green Tax podcast episode.

    Reply
  • 3. doug younker  |  December 26, 2007 at 1:18 am

    Hi; thanks the lead to Kroger’s green report. The only reusable bag I have seen at atDillons in an isulated one in the frozen sect for 2.99. my guess there placed there for the impulse purchase during the hot Summer months.

    IMO to make this fly it should be done as the soda bottles where. Charge us for the t bags used, if we didn’t bring any in to use no choice. Where we made sure we had soda bottles under the car seat, we will learn to make sure we have the bags in our vehicles at the ready. Yea there would be some peein and moanin, but in time the moaners will be told to shut the H up. Maybe not bags have thought to be free for a long time

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Green Tax Podcast

Subscribe to the podcast!
Subscribe Here

Categories

Feeds

Flickr Photos


